IRES labortory

Research and development in our own laboratory

Background information

on the development process

Our aspiration is to set new standards in the field of technical drying after water damage.


With this aim in mind, since the establishment of the company, we operate a vast and comprehensive laboratory environment in which we strongly focus on continuous research in the field of water damage restoration as well as product development. Significant findings and expertise in quick, efficient and long-term drying are gained in the laboratory environment by simulating water damage and subsequently executing the drying process. 

Intelligently controlled intermittent drying 
with infrared radiation

Infrared radiation is a long-wave radiation with wavelengths between 780 nm and 1 mm, hence - in contrast to micro-wave radiation - it is not harmful to human beings. The most common source of infrared radiation is the sun. Infrared radiation causes molecules to vibrate. The energy transmitted via this radiation increases the temperature of the irradiated body.

​This effect is used in technical drying with the use of infrared heating panels. The radiation is well absorbed by the wall and particularly well by the water it contains. In conventional, uncontrolled and non-regulated infrared drying applications, the low penetration depth of the infrared radiation into the material represents a significant disadvantage and limit to this technology. In such applications, the maximum temperature at the wall surface is reached very quickly while the heat does not penetrate the inside of the wall. The quick initial drying effect, thanks to the transport of liquid water by capillary action in the pores of the material is rapidly interrupted by the drying out of the upper material layers. Further drying can only take place by using the significantly slower and more energy-intensive principle of water vapour diffusion through the pores of the material.

​HyDry® equipment ensures intelligent control and regulation based on current process parameters in order to intensify the drying effects as much as possible. Consequently, the infrared drying becomes quicker, safer, more efficient and long-term.

Monitoring and dynamic control
of floor drying

Working hours and travel expenses are the main cost drivers of floating screed insulating layer drying. The automation of moisture measurements, MID certified power consumption measurement and project documentation allows the required working time to be significantly reduced.

The communication with the Box via NB IoT offers a reliable remote access to the drying system, even in basements of buildings where conventional equipment would rapidly reach its limits. Thanks to the free web portal, the drying progress and the end of the drying process can be determined reliably and remotely, with the entire drying work being executed with only 2 trips to the site. Particularly in the context of the current pandemic, there is a significant advantage in being able to reduce social contact to a minimum during drying applications.


The Box is compatible with any existing drying system; you can continue using your existing equipment.
Depending on the situation, the user can choose between simple data recording without regulation or data recording with a regulation of heating intervals based on the data collected.
The options of automatic switch-off for the night and receiving notifications should alarm values be exceeded are included as standard. 

Laboratory of the HyDry® Infrared unit
Research on the HyDry unit

Different measurement techniques are used for drying progress monitoring. In order to exactly determine the moisture content of the wall, the walls are placed on scales.

 

The decrease of weight is measured over time, allowing us to calculate how much moisture has dried and, consequently, the absolute water content of the wall.


For comparison, indirect methods used in the field, such as the hygroscopic moisture measurement, the capacitive moisture measurement, resistance measurements and additional temperature measurements, are applied as well. During laboratory tests, the ambient conditions inside the climatic chamber are kept constant and monitored.

Laboratory of the HyDry® Box
Research on the HyDry Box

A dedicated laboratory environment was created for the development of the HyDry® Remote Control Unit. The purpose-built climatic chamber allows constant ambient conditions to be set and monitored. 
 

The test stand with a floating screed insulating layer construction has a 20 square meter surface and can be flooded entirely but also selectively. Thanks to the modular construction, the results can be checked easily and rapidly, even directly at the different materials of the screed. The test stand measures and records the development of the drying process via a high number of sensors. 


For comparison, measuring methods used in the field for assessing the drying progress are applied as well. The knowledge gained and in general all data collected constitute the basis of the programs of the HyDry® Remote Control Unit.

 
The patented HyDry® air circulation control system

Based on the knowledge collected within the frame of its own research, IRES has developed an air circulation control system which conducts and reduces the air flow between the wall and the heating surface. This air flow should be just as strong as necessary to evacuate moisture. This allows a significantly improved drying efficiency to be achieved.


A targeted air circulation allows for much longer breaks between the heating intervals, as, firstly, the target temperature of the wall surface is reached significantly quicker and, secondly, the target temperature is maintained for much longer.


However, a basic requirement for applying this procedure is that the panel is equipped with a temperature control unit – otherwise, the wall would overheat first, quickly followed by the infrared panel. In both cases, the resulting damage would have serious consequences.
This procedure cannot be implemented with any of our competitors’ products that we are aware of and that do not have such a temperature measurement system.

Patented air circulation
Patented air circulation

Patented air circulation
Patented air circulation

Patented air circulation
Patented air circulation

1/2
IRES labortory
IRES labortory
IRES labortory
Do you want to know more about our equipment?

We look forward to hearing from you by phone or email!

IRES Labor

Forschung & Entwicklung

im eigenen Labor

Hintergrundinformationen zum

Entwicklungsprozess

Unser Anspruch ist es, im Bereich der technischen Trocknung nach Wasserschäden, neue Maßstäbe zu setzen.

Aus diesem Grund betreiben wir seit der Gründung des Unternehmens eine umfangreiche Laborumgebung, in welcher wir unsere Forschung im Bereich der Wasserschadensanierung und produktbezogene Entwicklung kontinuierlich vorantreiben. Wesentliche Erkenntnisse für eine schnelle, effiziente und nachhaltige Trocknung liefert die Laborumgebung durch simulierte Wasserschäden mit anschließender Trocknung. 

Intelligent geregelte Intervalltrocknung
mit Infrarot

Infrarotstrahlung ist langwellige Strahlung im Bereich von 780 nm bis 1 mm und damit – im Gegensatz zur Mikrowellenstrahlung – für den Menschen unbedenklich. Die bekannteste Infrarotstrahlungsquelle ist die Sonne. Sie versetzt Moleküle in Schwingung. Die auf diese Weise zugeführte Energie führt zu einem Temperaturanstieg des bestrahlten Körpers.

Dieser Effekt wird bei der technischen Trocknung mit Infrarotheizplatten genutzt. Die Strahlung wird von der Wand und besonders gut vom darin enthaltenen Wasser absorbiert. Nachteilig wirkt sich bei ungeregelter, herkömmlicher Infrarottrocknung die geringe Eindringtiefe der Infrarotstrahlung in das Material aus. Dies führt zum schnellen Erreichen der Maximaltemperatur an der Wandoberfläche, während die Wärme nicht ins Wandinnere gelangt. Die anfänglich schnelle Trocknung durch den Flüssigwassertransport durch die Kapillarkräfte in den Poren reißt durch das Austrocknen der oberen Schichten ab. Die weitere Trocknung erfolgt nur noch durch die deutlich langsamere und energieaufwändige Dampfdiffusion durch die Poren.

Die HyDry®-Technik ermöglicht eine intelligente Regelung auf aktuelle Prozessparameter, um die Trocknung bestmöglich zu intensivieren. Die Infrarottrocknung wird damit schnell, sicher, effizient und nachhaltig.

Monitoring und dynamische Regelung in der Bodentrocknung

Arbeitszeit und Fahrtkosten sind ein wesentlicher Kostentreiber bei der Estrich-dämmschicht-Trocknung. Durch die Automatisierung der Feuchtemessung, der MID-konformen Erfassung des Strombedarfs und deren Dokumentation wird ein erheblicher Zeitanteil bei der Trocknung eingespart.

Die Kommunikation mit der Combox via NB IoT bietet einen

zuverlässigen Fernzugriff auf das Trocknungssystem, auch aus Kellern von Gebäuden, wo die bisherige Technik schnell an ihre Grenzen gestossen ist. Über das kostenlose Web-Portal können der Trocknungsverlauf und das Trocknungsende sicher aus der Ferne bestimmt und damit eine Trocknung mit nur zwei Anfahrten realisiert werden. So können auch die sozialen Kontakte bei der Trocknung auf ein Minimum reduziert werden.

Die Combox ist kompatibel mit jedem bereits vorhandenen Trocknungssystem. Die Bestandstechnik kann weiterhin eingesetzt werden.

Je nach Situation kann eine einfache Datenaufzeichnung ohne Regelung oder die Aufzeichnung mit Regelung von Intervallen anhand der erfassten Daten ausgewählt werden.

Nachtabschaltung, Benachrichtigung bei Überschreiten von Alarmwerten sind selbstverständlich. 

Labor HyDry® Infrarot Unit

Zur Beobachtung des Trocknungsfortschritts werden verschiendene Messtechniken angewandt. Um eine zuverlässige Aussage zum Wassergehalt in der Wand treffen zu können, werden die Wände auf Waagen gestellt. Der über die Zeit aufgezeichnete Masseverlust ermöglicht es, die bereits getrocknete Menge Wasser und damit den absoluten Wassergehalt in der Wand zu berechnen.

 

Vergleichend werden indirekte Methoden aus der Praxis wie hygroskopische Feuchtemessung, die kapazitive Feuchtemessung, Widerstandsmessungen und zusätzliche Temperaturmessungen eingesetzt. Während der Versuche werden die Umgebungsbedingungen in der Klimakammer konstant eingestellt und überwacht.

Labor HyDry® Combox

Für die Produktentwicklung der HyDry® Remote Unit wurde eine eigene Laborumgebung geschaffen. Mit der errichteten Klimakammer können konstante Umgebungsbedingungen eingestellt und überwacht werden. 

Der Teststand mit Estrich-Dämmschicht-Aufbau hat eine Fläche von 20 Quadratmetern und kann flächig wie punktuell geflutet werden. Mit seinem modularen Aufbau können die Ergebnisse, auch materialseitige, einfach und schnell überprüft werden. Der Teststand erfasst über zahlreiche Sensoren die Entwicklung der Trocknung. 

 

Vergleichend werden begleitend zur Trocknung Messmethoden aus der Praxis zur Beurteilung des Trocknungsfortschritts eingesetzt. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse sind Grundlage für die Ausgestaltung der Programme der HyDry® Remote Unit.

 
Die HyDry® patentierte Luftführung

Auf Grundlage der Erkenntnisse aus der eigenen Forschung hat IRES eine Luftführung entwickelt, die den Luftstrom zwischen Wand und Heizfläche kontrolliert führt und reduziert. 

Dieser Volumenstrom sollte nur so groß sein, wie für den Abtransport der Feuchtigkeit erforderlich. Dadurch wird eine wesentliche Effizienzsteigerung bei der Trocknung erreicht.

Eine zielgerichtete Luftführung ermöglicht deutlich längere Pausen der Heizintervalle, denn zum einen wird die Zieltemperatur der Wandoberfläche wesentlich schneller erreicht und zum anderen hält diese auch länger an.

 

Entscheidende Voraussetzung für dieses Vorgehen ist jedoch eine Temperatursteuerung am Panel – sonst würde zuerst die Wand überhitzen und anschließend das Infrarot-Panel. In beiden Fällen könnten folgenschwere Schäden entstehen.

 

Den uns bekannten Wettbewerbsprodukten, die über keine Temperaturmessung verfügen, steht diese Möglichkeit nicht zur Verfügung.

IRES Labor
_LO_1492.jpg
_LO_1519.jpg
Sie möchten weitere Informationen über unsere Technik erfahren? 

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Nachricht oder Ihren Anruf!

Sie haben einen Wasserschaden? Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen:

© 2020 IRES Infrarot Energiesysteme GmbH - Haid-und-Neu-Str. 7 - 76131 Karlsruhe - Tel: 0721-782011-22